Friday Fun #1 Linerider

As well as trying to post a ‘game making tutorial’ each Friday, I’ll also try to find some idling curiosity for you to play with over the weekend.

First up is Line rider. Linerider is, well, linerider…

Draw a line (in your browser, on the Line Rider site) and set the sledger off… brilliantly compelling – but why is it such fun?

If you find yourself hooked, here are some Line Rider video tutorials.

I think you can make movies of your own line rides? If you can and do, why not post a link as a comment? ;-)

Just by the by, what principles from physics does the Line Rider “game” depend on? (and indeed, is Line Rider a game?!).

How are these “physical laws” represented in the Line Rider, and how do they affect the behaviour of the character within it?

5 Responses to “Friday Fun #1 Linerider”


  1. 1 Tony Hirst March 8, 2008 at 8:36 am

    Oops… I thought I’d posted this yesterday – ah well, Friday, Saturday, what’s in a day?

  2. 2 Andy Mee March 8, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    This is brilliant!

    I found it easy to ‘get into’ the game but quite difficult to pull off some more advanced stunts. I’m getting quite close to pulling off these more difficult stunts though and that keeps me coming back for more and slightly adjusting the take-off or landing etc. The simplicity of the game is refreshing as well.

    I like the way gravity is effecting the character himself as well as the sled.IT’s fun watching the little guy try and hold on!

  3. 3 Tony Hirst March 11, 2008 at 1:27 am

    As well as gravity, you should probably count momentum in there. I thought I saw a movie with what looked like a “bouncy” line (like a piece of elastic, that the sledger deformed before it sprang back, but I can’t find anything like that looking just now – maybe it was my imagination?!)

    PS If you’re a Flash user and fancy a challenge, here’s a tutorial on how to create a Linerider like game in Flash: http://www.emanueleferonato.com/2007/08/13/throw-a-ball-with-a-sling-physics-flash-tutorial/

    If you’re not into Flash, but you are into maths, it shows some of the calculations required to model the various objects…

    I don’t intend going down that route in this uncourse, unless you really, really want me to?! ;-)

  4. 4 Andy Mee March 11, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    Physics and Maths aren’t my strong points unfortunately. I do like Flash as a platform for writing games though so will have a go at that tutorial. It may take a while but thanks for the link :-)


  1. 1 Friday Fun #6 Boomshine and Desktop Tower Defense « Digital Worlds - Interactive Media and Game Design Trackback on April 4, 2008 at 12:37 pm

Leave a Reply

Categories


